DataSys: Data-Intensive Distributed Systems LaboratoryData-Intensive Distributed Systems Laboratory

Illinois Institute of Technology
Department of Computer Science

CFP (TXT, PDF) | News | Topics | Dates | Submission | Organization | Program | Sponsors

6th Workshop on Many-Task Computing on Clouds, Grids, and Supercomputers (MTAGS) 2013

Co-located with Supercomputing/SC 2013
Denver Colorado -- November 17th, 2013


Dr. Douglas Thain


Robustness, Performance, and Usability in Highly Concurrent Applications

Abstract: Once widely separate, the distributed and parallel programming communities are rapidly converging towards common ideas for designing massively parallel applications. Distributed programming models have long focused on robustness at scale by sacrificing some performance and generality, while parallel programming models have focused on performance at the expense of robustness and expressiveness. This talk will explore how both communities are adopting techniques from the other, and consider whether they will meet in the middle, or reach something new entirely.

Douglas ThainProf. Douglas Thain is an Associate Professor in the Department of Computer Science and Engineering at the University of Notre Dame.  He received the B.S. in Physics from the University of Minnesota - Twin Cities and the M.S. and Ph.D. in Computer Sciences from the University of Wisconsin - Madison, where he contributed to the Condor distributed computing system.  At Notre Dame, he works closely with researchers in multiple fields of science and engineering to attack scientific problems using large scale computing.  His research team creates and publishes open source software that is used around the world to harness large scale computing systems such as clusters, clouds, and grids. Prof. Thain teaches a variety of undergraduate and graduate courses in fundamentals of computing, operating systems, compilers, and distributed systems.  He is the recipient of multiple teaching awards, including the CSE Department Undergraduate Teaching Award, the College of Engineering Outstanding Teacher of the Year and the Notre Dame Edmund Joyce C.S.C Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching.