[CCGrid-announce] IEEE TCSC Award for Excellence in Scalable Computing -- Call for Nominations

Ioan Raicu iraicu at cs.iit.edu
Fri Dec 4 10:37:26 CST 2015

2016 IEEE TCSC Award for Excellence in Scalable Computing
Call for Nominations

The IEEE TCSC Award for Excellence in Scalable Computing is awarded for 
and sustained contributions to the scalable computing community through 
the IEEE
Technical Committee on Scalable Computing (TCSC), coupled with an 
outstanding record
of high quality and high impact research. The award consists of a plaque 
and an
honorarium of $1000.

The past recipients of the IEEE TCSC award of excellence are: Jack 
Dongarra (University
of Tennessee, USA) in 2008, Rajkumar Buyya (University of Melbourne, 
Australia) in 2009,
William Gropp (University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, USA) in 2010, 
Professor Albert
Zomaya (University of Sydney, Australia) in 2011, David Abramson (Monash 
Australia) in 2012, Marc Snir (Argonne National Laboratory, USA) in 
2013, Yves Robert
(UMR CNRS, ENS Lyon, INRIA, France) in 2014, and Ian Foster (University 
of Chicago
and Argonne National Laboratory, USA) in 2015.

Further details about the award can be found at the IEEE TCSC website:

Nominations: A candidate may be nominated by colleagues/TCSC members
or may nominate him/her-self. An individual can nominate at most one
candidate for this award. The candidate must be an IEEE, IEEE CS, and
TCSC member in good standing. Nomination must be submitted via email
to tcsc-awards at rutgers.edu <mailto:tcsc-awards at rutgers.edu>.  A 
nomination application (as a single
PDF file) should contain the following details:

1. Professional Employment Affiliations: List the nominee's current
    professional affiliations and titles.

2. Citation: Give a brief citation (thirty words or less) precisely
    stating the most salient reason(s) why the nominee is qualified
    for the award.

3. Technical Contributions: Describe the nominee's technical
    achievements as well as significance and impact. (Max 2 page

4. TCSC Contribution: Describe the candidate’s service and specific
    contributions to TCSC and its community activities. (Max 2 page

5. Endorsers: Each nomination must be supported by letter from three
    at least endorsers. An endorser can endorse only one candidate for
    this award. The endorsers will be required to comment on the
    nominee's technical contributions as well as service to the TCSC
    and its community. The endorsement letters should be included in
    the nomination package.

Important Dates:
Nomination Deadline:  February 01, 2016
Result Notification:  March 01, 2016

Award Selection Note: The award will presented at the 16th IEEE/ACM 
International Symposium
on Cluster, Cloud and Grid Computing (CCGrid 2016)to be held in 
Cartagena, Columbia from
May 16 to 19, 2016. The winner should be available to receive the award 
in person and present
a keynote talk at the CCGrid 2016 conference. For more information about 
the conference
please see https://ccgrid2016.uniandes.edu.co.

Award Selection Committee: The award selection committee will consist of 
past winners,
leaders in the field, as well as members of the TCSC Executive Committee.

The selection committee for 2016 is composed of:
Barbara Chapman, Stony Brook University, USA
Ian Foster, University of Chicago/Argonne National Laboratory, USA
Satoshi Matsuoka, Tokyo Institute of Technology, Japan
Padma Raghavan, Pennsylvania State University, USA
Yves Robert, UMR CNRS, ENS Lyon, INRIA, France
Albert Zomaya, University of Sydney, Australia

Manish Parashar, Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, USA
        (Email: parashar at rutgers dot edu)
Beniamino Di Martino, Second University of Naples, Italy
        (Email: beniamino.dimartino at unina dot it)

Ioan Raicu, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Computer Science, Illinois Institute of Technology
Guest Research Faculty
Math & Computer Science, Argonne National Laboratory

-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: <http://datasys.cs.iit.edu/pipermail/ccgrid-announce/attachments/20151204/efbcbf5e/attachment.html>

More information about the CCGrid-announce mailing list